Professor Mikey's OLD SCHOOL
OLD SCHOOL: Singles
Old School Single: The Grind TOMMY BOLIN (1975)
0:00
-4:45

Old School Single: The Grind TOMMY BOLIN (1975)

Mister Broken Glass, Mister Silver and Gold, Mister Bustin’ My Ass, Mister All You Can Hold

The ultimate destiny of Tommy Bolin is one of music’s big mysteries, because he never got past the drugs or age 25.  Born in Sioux City Iowa, he was kicked out of school because he wouldn’t cut his hair.  This led to a move to Boulder Colorado, where he joined a local legend that went national called Zephyr.  Leaving that band at a time that he was becoming interested in jazz fusion, he was picked by drummer Billy Cobham to appear on the Spectrum album.  From there, he did stints with the James Gang and Deep Purple, before recording two solo albums.  Just as his star was ascending, it exploded.  Bolin was found dead of a heroin overdose in Miami in December of 1976, shortly after opening a show for Jeff Beck.  Here’s a little funk, a little jazz, a little metal, all at once…Tommy Bolin and The Grind from 1975’s Teaser

Share Professor Mikey's OLD SCHOOL

I walked all day tryin' to find me work
I must have knocked on one-hundred doors
Would have swallowed my pride for some money
And be satisfied sweepin' the floors

Mister Broken-Glass
Mister Silver-And-Gold
Mister Bustin'-My-Ass
Mister All-You-Can-Hold

I spent last night sleepin' on a park bench
'til a copy came and moved me along
Told him I was botherin' nobody
Yes, he told me I was dead wrong

Mister Broken-Glass
Mister Silver-And-Gold
Mister Bustin'-My-Ass
Mister All-You-Can-Hold

Everywhere, I get the same kind of answer
"Not now" or "Maybe then"
Well, me time is runnin' out on me people,
Yes, me people
If you're down and without a friend

Mister Broken-Glass
Mister Silver-And-Gold
Mister Bustin'-My-Ass
Mister All-You-Can-Hold

Source: LyricFind

Songwriters: Jeffery Cook / John Tesar / Stanley Sheldon / Tommy Bolin

The Grind lyrics © Equestrian Music, Music Sales Corporation

Colorado's brightest musical star remembered 40 years after he died in ...
“The past is a blast.”

Discussion about this podcast

Professor Mikey's OLD SCHOOL
OLD SCHOOL: Singles
Short, one story, one song podcasts. Eclectic, offbeat, exciting but mostly forgotten moments from the last half of the 20th Century.